Sling Love

Today I carried around my poorly wee munchkin in the sling for a couple of hours. I have to admit, it is one of my favourite things to do, as I enjoy being close to him. He’s not one for long cuddles, so seeing his soft blonde head bobbing just under my eyeline is a delight. Lots of drooling and sneezing today. His previously peachy cheeks are now red, raw and bumpy. Poor wee lamb. So, with all this going on, I thought it was a day for mummy cuddles and he didn’t put up much of a fight for once!

When Noah was first born I used a simple fabric loop sling. As he didn’t weigh much then, I didn’t really have to worry much about my back, so the loop over the one shoulder was fine. However, I didn’t really feel like it gave his body much support and I was constantly thinking he would somehow wriggle his way out of it.

So… we then tried out a Baby Bjorn sling. It was love at first carry! Noah loved it, especially when he could face outwards and watch the world go by. We used this bad boy for months, throughout a cold, cold winter with Noah wrapped up tight. It is quite sleek so can fit under bulky winter coats and you don’t feel armoured up.

However, the boy grew and grew and soon I realised that the Baby Bjorn just wasn’t going to cut it. I needed something a bit more heavy duty to take all 23lbs of munchkin. I did a lot of research and the same name kept appearing…Ergo. They’re a bit pricey, so Ebay definitely came in handy. We ended up getting the lightweight sport carrier. Noah can’t face out, but he can go on our backs (we have yet to try!). It is super comfy, as there is a waist band as well as shoulder straps, so the weight is equally distributed. So far, so good. It is apparently suitable for up to 40lbs, so we shall see!

Leave a Reply

